I’m tired of it.

I’m tired of it.

I’m tired of hearing from my friends that they haven’t read a book since high school.  There’s a reason why they made you read at school.

I’m tired of hearing them say it as if it’s a badge of social pride.  Except one of the premiere partiers of our generation loves to read.

I’m tired of hearing people claim books are boring. I say you’re too lazy to exert the effort. Too lazy to use your imagination. It’s no secret that many of the most successful people in the world read. A lot.

I’m tired of hearing people say that they have better things to do. Then they go spend 2 hours a day watching TV.  Over here is an aspiring writer who doesn’t read (just kidding).

I’m tired of hearing people who want to read say “I just don’t have the time”.  I say you’re just not trying to find the time. How about during breakfast? Lunch? While you’re on the throne? On the train or bus? Twenty minutes before you sleep? Or you can just set some time aside per day to read. If you really try, can you honestly say that you can’t find any time at all? Really?

To the booklovers in the world: Thank you, spread the love.

To the people who intermittedly read: Thank you, spread the love.

To the people who have an excuse for not reading: I’m calling your bluff.

Leave a Reply

